Field guide · Backup power

Best Emergency Power Bank: Solar and Hand-Crank Options

For weather reception, investigate the Midland ER310; for shared light with hand-crank backup, our use-case pick is the Goal Zero Lighthouse 600. Phone backup needs a separately verified dedicated battery. Neither of these crank options promises a full phone charge.

By The Off Grid Eagle editorsPublished Updated Research-based · not lab-testedHow we research

We may earn a commission when you buy through our links. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Affiliate disclosure

Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 lantern with hand crank; a lighting alternative, not the Venture 35 power bank
Image: Goal Zero

Jump to our use-case pick ↓

Quick picks

Alternatives first; the recommendation for the stated use case is last.

The short list

Midland ER310 red and black emergency crank weather radio on its kickstand
Image: Midland
Weather-reception alternative

Midland ER310 Emergency Crank Weather Radio

Weather-reception alternative

Get it if You need broadcast alerts with hand-crank and solar maintenance options.

Skip it if Reliable modern-smartphone charging is your main requirement.

Midland ER310 Emergency Crank Weather Radio — manufacturer specifications
BandsNOAA weather (alert) and AM/FM
PowerRechargeable lithium-ion battery, solar panel, hand crank (Midland)
Battery lifeUp to 45 hours of normal use (Midland)
ExtrasCree LED flashlight with SOS, ultrasonic dog whistle, USB device charging (Midland)

Manufacturer sources and limits

Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 lantern with folding legs and top hand crank
Image: Goal Zero
Our top pick for shared hand-crank light

Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 Lantern & USB Power Hub

Our top pick for shared hand-crank light

Get it if You need shared light with emergency hand-crank backup and can charge before an outage.

Skip it if You need a dedicated phone battery or guaranteed phone charging.

Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 Lantern & USB Power Hub — manufacturer specifications
Light typeLantern with USB power output
Output600 lumens (Goal Zero)
PowerInternal battery (Goal Zero)
BackupHand crank; emergency top-up (Goal Zero)

Manufacturer sources and limits

Compare the candidates

Side-by-side specs of our picks
SpecificationWeather-reception alternativeMidland ER310Our top pick for shared hand-crank lightGoal Zero Lighthouse 600
PowerRechargeable lithium-ion battery, solar panel, hand crank (Midland)Internal battery (Goal Zero)
Battery lifeUp to 45 hours of normal use (Midland)Not specified for this job
OutputNot specified for this job600 lumens (Goal Zero)
BackupNot specified for this jobHand crank; emergency top-up (Goal Zero)
Weather-reception alternative

Midland ER310

Power
Rechargeable lithium-ion battery, solar panel, hand crank (Midland)
Battery life
Up to 45 hours of normal use (Midland)
Output
Not specified for this job
Backup
Not specified for this job
Our top pick for shared hand-crank light

Goal Zero Lighthouse 600

Power
Internal battery (Goal Zero)
Battery life
Not specified for this job
Output
600 lumens (Goal Zero)
Backup
Hand crank; emergency top-up (Goal Zero)

What to skip

Skip a purchase when you cannot confirm the exact model, preparation or connection requirements, included equipment and storage or recharge plan. A package name or headline rating does not prove household coverage.

How we picked

We compared documented job fit, preparation or connection requirements, storage or energy limits, and handling and purchase contents. Manufacturer sources below support the listed specifications; our research does not establish your household's outcome.

Research-based, not lab-tested. Read our research method and match the documented requirements to your household before purchasing.

How we picked the candidates

We used four documented criteria: intended appliance or device job; voltage and ordinary output requirements; stored energy and replenishment limits; and handling, cables and exact purchase contents. Manufacturer documents support specifications; they do not establish our own runtime or performance test.

How we chose

This is research-based, not lab-tested. We compared the manufacturers’ documented charging methods, intended jobs and limitations. The recommendations below address phone backup, shared lighting and receiving alerts. Affiliate participation does not establish performance. The hero shows the lantern alternative; it is not a picture of the dedicated phone battery.

Compare the job before choosing a charger

Option Best fit Recharge method Reason to skip
Midland ER310 Receive weather alerts with backup charging USB, small onboard panel, hand crank You need reliable charging for a modern smartphone
Goal Zero Lighthouse 600 Shared light with a hand-crank fallback USB, separate panel, hand crank Your main goal is fast phone charging

Lighting choice: Goal Zero Lighthouse 600

Goal Zero lists USB charging, an external solar-panel option and a hand crank. Its crank claim concerns low-mode light: about ten minutes from one minute of cranking. That claim is not a phone-runtime measurement. Choose it when room lighting comes first; a dedicated battery better separates phone energy from lighting energy. The panel is separate, and solar replenishment depends on conditions.

Weather-reception alternative: Midland ER310

The ER310 combines weather reception, a light and backup charging. Midland’s FAQ says its solar panel helps maintain an already charged battery. It is not intended to recover a discharged battery. The same FAQ warns that newer phones can draw too much power for its emergency charging function. We therefore recommend it for receiving information, not as the best phone power bank. Read the model number carefully: ER310PRO is a different product.

Unlinked phone-battery research: Goal Zero Venture 35

Goal Zero lists 35.52Wh of stored energy, an 18W USB-C input/output and two USB-A outputs. A separate compatible Nomad panel makes it solar-ready; it has neither an onboard panel nor a hand crank. This arrangement lets you place the panel in sunlight while keeping the battery within its operating limits.

Choose it for smaller USB devices and a separate-panel recharge plan. Skip it for a refrigerator, CPAP or any AC-powered load. Confirm your phone’s connector and charging requirements, and check the exact bundle before ordering. A standalone bank listing does not include a panel. We have not verified an exact purchase listing for this battery. Match the model, seller and contents before ordering.

Build a recharge routine

Charge the bank before an outage, keep a matching cable with it and check it on the manufacturer’s schedule. Test your own charging combination during normal conditions. Do not use our research as evidence that a particular phone will accept power.

Keep solar expectations modest. Shade, weather, panel angle and the device’s input limit affect charging. A small panel on a radio and a separate folding USB panel have different jobs. For AC appliances, move to the power station sizing guide. For supplies beyond charging, use the power outage kit checklist.

Frequently asked questions

Can a hand crank fully recharge my smartphone?

Do not plan on it. Use the exact device’s documented limits and retain a charged phone battery. A claim about minutes of radio or lantern operation does not establish delivered phone energy.

Is a solar-ready power bank a solar generator?

Here it means a USB battery that accepts a compatible panel. It does not provide the AC output of a power station. Check the connectors, panel output and battery input before buying.

Does a product image prove the planned setup works?

No. The image identifies the pictured product. Confirm exact device requirements, connections and the recharge plan independently before relying on the setup.

What changed

Updated Oct 14, 2026: separated phone-battery research from the weather-radio and hand-crank lighting choices, with clearer reasons to choose or skip each.